WTE News

Search Our Site


The 21st version of the WTE European Junior Championships was successfully completed between 02-05 November 2017 in Larnaka, Cyprus. The competitions were held at the Kition Athletic Centre, a place which was suitably settled to host a Taekwondo event.

The Cyprus Taekwondo Federation took over a WTE event for third time in history and achieved to deliver an enjoyable competition with the 500 young athletes from 41 countries to get experienced, challenged and excited.

Concerning the completion of the event, the World Taekwondo Europe President Sakis Pragalos stated: “I would like to thank the Cyprus Taekwondo Federation President Phoivos Christou for his active contribution in realizing this effective WTE event. These Championships are vital for the future of Taekwondo and its precious athletes and thus it is more than essential for us to deliver a high-quality competition under the best possible conditions. Furthermore, it is always a pleasure for us to watch young talented and promising athletes within our sport who can compete under new conditions and accumulate as much experience as they can. By participating in WTE European Championships they can improve their competing performances for the near future and familiarize the new in-field challenging environment.”


Final Results:




The Statistics: 

Russia triumphed as the leading country at the overall medal standings of the competition since its representatives achieved totally 26 medals during the four-day event. Turkey holds the second place with three (3) golds, one (1) silver, two (2) bronzes and Croatia follows with two (2) golds, one (1) silver and three (3) bronzes. 



Male Medal Standings:





Female Medal Standings





Overall Medal Standings





In appreciation of their effort, the Organizing Committee provided honorary gifts to the 40 volunteers that contributed to the realization of the Championships.



The Organizing Committee also awarded the top six (6) International Referees of the event:

Panikos Loizou (CYP)

Katarzyna Rejent (POL)

Stefan Eugen Raileanv (MLD)

Pantelis Panteli (CYP)

Reza Shojaie (AUT)

Federico Zanete (ITA)




W.T.E Sponsors

Dae Do.

Mas TKD.