WTE News

Search Our Site



Over the past several months after the World Taekwondo rebranding and after the Extraordinary meeting in London on 21st October 2017, the World Taekwondo has appointed the new personalities, each one specialized in his/ her field, that assembly the WT Committees.

The World Taekwondo is deeply committed to creating an inclusive environment where all of taekwondo athletes, coaches, and all kind of practitioners feel they belong. Regarding this, the WT Committees have been built on respect, dignity, and aspirations for the future of taekwondo, far greater than the sum of the achievements of individuals. The appointees’ recommendations will provide the expertise, specialized guidance and consider whether certain operational fields can be improved, either by changing aspects of existing structure or through broader vision.

Hence, it is a privilege for the World Taekwondo Europe to identify eighteen (18) Europeans in total among the WT Committee appointees, fortified with their capabilities and skills on how to improve our sport.In detail, the appointees in WT Committees from the European continent as designated by the World Taekwondo are the following:


Philippe Bouedo (France) as Chair of the Education Committee, Gentil Pascal (France) is designated Co-Chair of the Athletes Commitee with Michail Mouroutsos (Greece) and Brigitte Yague Enrique (Spain) as members, Dr. Luc Reychler (Belgium) has been appointed as Chair of the Ethics committee, Vice Chair of the Marketing Committee is Jon Smith (Great Britain), members in the Women in Taekwondo Committee Laurence Rase (Belgium) and Lisa Lents (Denmark), while members of the Juridical Committee is Mr. Alexander Mivev (Bulgaria) along with Dr. Michael Lehner (Germany).


Furthermore, Chair of the Sustainability Committee has been appointed to Dr. Giovanni di Cola (Italy), with Adriana Gulino (Italy) and Dirk Craen (Belgium) as members. Moreover, one more distinction is that the entire Media committee appointees come from European countries, indicating the cathedral role of the media in the sport which has been established during past European taekwondo events and championships. Specifically, Chair of the committee is Michel Madar (Israel), Vice Chair is Effie Zikouli (Greece), and the members are Sibylle Maier (Germany) and John Cullen (UK).

Concerning the Para-Taekwondo, Mr. Chakir Chelbat (Sweden) has been appointed Chair of the Technical & Referees Committee and Mr. Usman Dildar (Great Britain) as Chair of the Games.

Beginning with exposure to new ideas and through diverse background environments, the intellectual property of the committees is an asset for the taekwondo evolution. Their mission is to set the standards for the World Taekwondo development across the globe and communicate the transformative power of the sport, aligned to the Olympic values and spirit. The appointees are committed to creating and sustaining the conditions that will enable taekwondo across all disciplines, and pass the sport to a new era of an unparalleled journey that is operationally, socially, and individually transformative.

The committee progress is guided by the overarching department which further examines each issue. We are looking forward to supporting the new appointees in their important work and leverage their impact into the continental governing bodies of the sport, continuing our work together.

W.T.E Sponsors

Dae Do.

Mas TKD.